Official Site of the Minnesota Wild
Join the Wild Warming House Season Ticket Holder Central Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest MN Wild App
Minnesota Wild Blog

Iowa Wild Moves To West Division For 2014-15

Wednesday, 07.9.2014 / 10:18 AM CT
Share with your Friends

View From the Lighthouse

The Minnesota Wild's American Hockey League affiliate, the Iowa Wild, will move from the Midwest Division to the West Division for the 2014-15 season. From a news release from the Iowa Wild:

American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced that the league’s Board of Governors has approved the following division alignment for the 2014-15 AHL season (National Hockey League affiliates in parentheses):

Western Conference

West Division

Iowa Wild (Minnesota)

Charlotte Checkers (Carolina)

Oklahoma City Barons (Edmonton)

San Antonio Rampage (Florida)

Texas Stars (Dallas)

North Division

Adirondack Flames (Calgary)

Hamilton Bulldogs (Montreal)

Rochester Americans (Buffalo)

Toronto Marlies (Toronto)

Utica Comets (Vancouver)

Midwest Division

Chicago Wolves (St. Louis)

Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit)

Lake Erie Monsters (Colorado)

Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville)

Rockford IceHogs (Chicago)

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

Manchester Monarchs (Los Angeles)

Portland Pirates (Arizona)

Providence Bruins (Boston)

St. John’s IceCaps (Winnipeg)

Worcester Sharks (San Jose)

Northeast Division

Albany Devils (New Jersey)

Bridgeport Sound Tigers (N.Y. Islanders)

Hartford Wolf Pack (N.Y. Rangers)

Springfield Falcons (Columbus)

Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay)

East Division

Binghamton Senators (Ottawa)

Hershey Bears (Washington)

Lehigh Valley Phantoms (Philadelphia)

Norfolk Admirals (Anaheim)

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh)

Changes from last season include:

• Calgary’s affiliate relocating from Abbotsford, B.C., to Glens Falls, N.Y., and playing in the North Division

• Philadelphia’s affiliate relocating from Glens Falls, N.Y. to Allentown, Pa., and playing in the East Division

• Syracuse moving from the East Division to the Northeast Division

• Lake Erie moving from the North Division to the Midwest Division

• Iowa moving from the Midwest Division to the West Division

The format for the 2015 Calder Cup Playoffs has also been approved by the Board of Governors and remains the same as 2014: Eight teams in each conference will qualify for the postseason, with the three division winners earning the top three seeds and the next five best teams in order of regular-season points seeded fourth through eighth. The conference quarterfinals will be best-of-five series; the conference semifinals, conference finals and Calder Cup Finals will be best-of-seven series. Teams will be re-ordered after the first round so that the highest-remaining seed plays the lowest-remaining seed.

The playing schedule for the 2014-15 regular season, which begins Oct. 10, will be announced later this summer.

Certified Green
divider is the official Web site of the Minnesota Wild Hockey Club. The Minnesota Wild,, "The State of Hockey" and State of Hockey flag image are trademarks of Minnesota Sports & Entertainment. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016  Minnesota Sports & Entertainment and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

About Us | Contact Us | Employment | Terms of Use | Advertising | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices