Official Site of the Minnesota Wild
Join the Wild Warming House Season Ticket Holder Central Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest MN Wild App
  • RSS

Apple Valley’s Fischer Named Mr. Hockey

Sunday, 03.12.2006 / 3:01 PM CT / News
Share with your Friends

Apple Valley’s Fischer Named Mr. Hockey


The Minnesota Minutemen announced today that Apple Valley’s David Fischer is the recipient of the 22nd annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior boys high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota. Austin Lee of Bloomington Jefferson is the recipient of The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of the state’s top senior goaltender.

The Mr. Hockey Award, given each year to the outstanding senior hockey player in the state of Minnesota, is selected by a panel of judges, including National Hockey League scouts, Division I coaches and selected media members from around the state. Other finalists for this year’s award were: Jay Barriball (Holy Angels), Michael Forney (Thief River Falls), Jordan Fulton (Breck), David Grun (White Bear Lake), Kyle Medvec (Apple Valley), Joey Miller (Wayzata), Nick Oslund (Burnsville), Andy Sackirson (St. Louis Park), and Carl Sneep (Brainerd).

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowski (2004) Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).

The Minnesota Wild and Acceleration Minnesota are co-sponsors of the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet.  The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted by the Minnesota Minutemen.

Certified Green

divider is the official Web site of the Minnesota Wild Hockey Club. The Minnesota Wild,, "The State of Hockey" and State of Hockey flag image are trademarks of Minnesota Sports & Entertainment. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016  Minnesota Sports & Entertainment and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

About Us | Contact Us | Employment | Terms of Use | Advertising | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices