Official Site of the Minnesota Wild
Join the Wild Warming House Season Ticket Holder Central Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest MN Wild App
  • RSS

3M Excellence In Coaching Awards Announced

Tuesday, 05.16.2006 / 3:11 PM CT / News
Share with your Friends

3M Excellence In Coaching Awards Announced

The National Hockey League’s (NHL) Minnesota Wild, in partnership with 3M, has  announced the recipients of the 2005-06 3M Excellence in Coaching Awards. Coaches were nominated for their efforts and dedication to youth in their communities during 2004-05 and were honored at pre-game ceremonies prior to select Wild games at Xcel Energy Center this past season.

Additionally, the Wild and 3M teamed up to award the Charlie Stryker 3M Coach of the Year honor to Tartan’s John Humphrey (Boy’s) and White Bear Lake’s Jon Anderson (Girl’s). Humphrey and Anderson were honored during an intermission ceremony at the April 11 Wild game. The award is named in honor of Charlie Stryker, a long-time hockey coach instrumental in the development of girl’s hockey at the high school level.

This is the third season that the Minnesota Wild has presented the 3M Excellence in Coaching Award. The award was given to a boy’s and girl’s high school hockey coach from each section of both classes (A and AA) in the state during the 2004-05 season. The award honors coaches that display good sportsmanship, provide a positive youth sports experience, teach positive life skills and demonstrate respect for players and officials. Forms were sent to the Minnesota Boy’s and Girl’s High School Coaching Associations and coaches were nominated by their peers.

2005-2006 3M Excellence In Coaching Award Winners

1A   Roy Nystrom (Albert Lea)  4AA  Dave Aus (Blaine)
  Kevin Schroeder (Marshall)    Jim Koltes (Maple Grove) 
 1AA Bruce Frutiger (Rochester)   5A  Mark Loahr (Totino Grace)
   Tim Hunst (Owatonna) 5AA   John Barger (Burnsville)
 2A  Brendan Flaherty (Duluth Marshall)   Jeff Smith (Rosemount) 
  Mitch Loch (Alexandria)   6A  Ed Loiselle (Shakopee)
 2AA  John Humphrey (Tartan)  6AA Jeff Lindquist (Jefferson) 
   Jerry Ball (Sibley)   Vin Paolucci (Hopkins) 
  Neil Paitich (St. Paul Como)   7A  Keith Hendrickson (Virginia)
 3A Bob Haskins (Rochester)  7AA  Dave Esse (Cloquet) 
   Dan Maloney (Detroit Lakes)    Mike Newton (Grand Rapids)
 3AA Tim Sager (White Bear Lake)   8A  Dennis Albert (Warroad)
  Jon Anderson (White Bear Lake)   8AA Dave Morinville (Moorhead) 
4A  Tony Couture (Little Falls)   Jim MacFarlane (Moorhead) 
  Ted Cheesebrough (St. Paul United)     

Certified Green

divider is the official Web site of the Minnesota Wild Hockey Club. The Minnesota Wild,, "The State of Hockey" and State of Hockey flag image are trademarks of Minnesota Sports & Entertainment. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016  Minnesota Sports & Entertainment and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

About Us | Contact Us | Employment | Terms of Use | Advertising | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices