Official Site of the Minnesota Wild
Join the Wild Warming House Season Ticket Holder Central Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest MN Wild App
  • RSS

Suter Voted NHL First All-Star Team

Wednesday, 07.3.2013 / 11:01 AM CT / News
By Mike Doyle  - Manager of Digital Content
Share with your Friends

Suter Voted NHL First All-Star Team

The month of July has been good to Ryan Suter. The defenseman signed a 13-year contract to play with the Wild 364 days ago. Today, he learned that he was voted to the 2012-13 NHL First All-Star Team.

In his first season in Minnesota, Suter becomes the first Wild player in franchise history to be voted onto the postseason NHL First All-Star Team. He joins D-partner Jonas Brodin, who was named to the All-Rookie Team over the weekend, as the only two Wild players be voted onto an All-NHL Team.

Suter led all NHL players and set a Wild franchise record with an average TOI/game of 27:16 in 2012-13, topping 30:00 on ice during 10 games, including a career-best 32:54 at Colorado (4/27). The Madison, Wisc., native posted 32 points (4-28=32) in 48 contests to rank second in assists and third in scoring amongst all NHL defensemen. Suter led the Wild in assists and blocked shots (74), and ranked T-2nd with seven multi-point games. Minnesota posted a 15-1-1 record when he recorded a rating of plus-one or better. Suter also skated a franchise playoff record 41:08 in Game 1 of the Western Conference Quarterfinals against Chicago.

Suter earned 713 votes (112, first; 46, second; 15, third), second to Montreal's P.K. Subban among defensemen. The Minnesota blueliner was a finalist for the Norris Trophy, as the League's top defenseman, finishing second in voting behind Subban. This is the first time the 28-year-old has made an NHL All-Star Team.

Joining Suter on the 2012-13 NHL First All-Star Team: Columbus goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky, Montreal defenseman P.K. Subban, Pittsburgh center Sidney Crosby, Washington right wing Alex Ovechkin and Pittsburgh left wing Chris Kunitz.

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

Full list of NHL All-Stars is below:

pos 2012-13 First all-star Team
gp W l oT GAA Sv%
G Sergei bobovsky, Columbus 38 21 11 6 2.00 .932
PoS 2012-13 first All-star team gp mins. g a pts
d P.K. Subban, Montreal 42 23:14 11 27 38
d Ryan Suter, Minnesota 48 27:16 4 28 32
c Sidney Crosby, Pittsbugh 36 21:06 15 41 56
rw alex ovechkin, washington 48 20:53 32 24 56
lw chris kunitz, pittsburgh 48 18:01 22 30 52

pos 2012-13 second all-star Team
gp W l oT GAA Sv%
G Henrik lundqvist, new york 43 24 16 3 2.05 .926
PoS 2012-13 Second All-star team gp mins. g a pts
d francois beauchemin, anaheim 48 23:27 6 18 24
d kris leang, pittsburgh 35 25:38 5 33 38
c jonathan toews, chicago 47 19:20 23 25 48
rw Martin st. louis, tampa bay 48 21:59 17 43 60
lw alex ovechkin, washington 48 20:53 32 24 56

Certified Green

divider is the official Web site of the Minnesota Wild Hockey Club. The Minnesota Wild,, "The State of Hockey" and State of Hockey flag image are trademarks of Minnesota Sports & Entertainment. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016  Minnesota Sports & Entertainment and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

About Us | Contact Us | Employment | Terms of Use | Advertising | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices